GNOIS Name

Bar

Download latest newsletter

Bayou and Marsh

Issue of June 2017

Bar

2018 GNOIS Calendar

The next GNOIS General Membership Meeting will be held on Saturday morning, Saturday, August 19, 9:00 till 11:30 AM in the Playhouse at Longue Vue

The speaker will be Paul Pastorek, who will recount his April exploration by kayak of the Abbeville Swamp, the only location of Iris nelsonii, and will discuss recent efforts to assure preservation of Louisiana irises in the wild.   

Mark your calendars for this and other upcoming events!  Note especially some  scheduled workdays in preparation for the 2018 American Iris Society and Society for Louisiana Irises Conventions.  Help will be greatly appreciated!

February 27 (Tuesday), 9:00 AM - Noon

Volunteer Day in Sculpture Garden

Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden

March 7 (Wednesday), 7:00 PM

Eileen Hollander and Patrick O’Connor, presentation:  “Louisiana Irises:  Transition From The Wild To The Garden”

East Bank Regional Library

March 10 (Saturday), 8:30 AM –11:30 AM

Volunteer Day on the Island

The Island in City Park (for directions call 504-343-1399)

March 17 (Saturday), 9:00 AM Noon

General Membership Meeting

East Bank Regional Library

March 19 (Monday), 6:30 PM

Eileen Hollander, presentation to Master Gardeners of Greater New Orleans

N.O. Botanical Garden, Garden Studies Center

March 19 (Monday), 6:30 PM

Eileen Hollander, presentation to Master Gardeners of Greater New Orleans

N.O. Botanical Garden, Garden Studies Center

March 20 (Tuesday), 9:00 AM – Noon

Third Tuesday in the Sculpture Garden

Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden

March 24 (Saturday), 8:30 AM –11:30 AM

Volunteer Day on the Island

The Island in City Park (for directions call 504-343-1399)

April 4 (Thursday), 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Louisiana Iris Day At Longue Vue

Wild Garden, Longue Vue House and Gardens

April 7 (Saturday), 8:30 AM –11:30 AM

Volunteer Day on the Island

The Island in City Park (for directions call 504-343-1399)

April 8, Sunday, 2 PM – 5 PM

Convention Setup – Volunteers Needed

Hilton Hotel at the N.O. Airport

April 9 – April 14

SLI/AIS National Conventions

 

April 14 (Saturday), Noon – 5:00 PM

Louisiana Iris Show

Courtyard, New Orleans Museum of Art

April 15 (Sunday), 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Louisiana Iris Show

Courtyard, New Orleans Museum of Art

April 15 (Sunday), 10:00 – 4:00 PM

Louisiana Iris Rainbow Festival

Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden

June or July, date to be determined

General Membership Meeting

To be announced

August 18 (Saturday), 9:00 AM Noon

General Membership Meeting

East Bank Regional Library

September 15 (Saturday), 9:00 AM Noon

General Membership Meeting

East Bank Regional Library

September 23 (Sunday), 10:00 AM – 12:30 PM

Louisiana Iris Workshop at Longue Vue (topic to be determined) – Part in classroom, part in garden

Longue Vue House and Garden

October 20 (Saturday), 10:00 AM Noon

Louisiana Iris Sale

Pavilion at Longue Vue

November 3 (Saturday), 9:00 AM Noon General Membership Meeting Playhouse at Longue Vue

*For details on Workday locations, phone 504-343-1399

Bar


2018 Annual Conventions

SLI logoAIS logo

American Iris Society

and

Society for Louisiana Irises

Fleur de gras

New Orleans

April 2018

Check Out the

Convention Website

(click above)

 

 

Facebook

GNOIS on Facebook